So I had seen a couple of patterns to make stuff out of grocery bags and I kept wondering, "Well how in the heck do you make the yarn out of it?" They never explained that part in the patterns. Well the other night my sister sent me a link to a video for how to do it! And I got soooo excited I started on my own reusable grocery bag/ tote bag (I haven't decided yet haha)!! If you guys want photos or a video let me know and I will add them. But this is how you do it
Lay the bag flat then fold it in half 3 or 4 times, long ways. By that I mean handles together. Then as close to the seam as you can cut off the bottom where it seals shut. then cut off the handles. Now you are going to fold it in half from there, and then in thirds. now cut each fold. now you have 6 loops to crochet with. you link them together and use them as you make them, super simple! AND you are reducing, reusing, and recycling all at the same time. there are numerous patterns you can find on google and even you tube for stuff to make with your new yarn.
As I said if you need visual help let me know and I'll make a video or take pictures.
Good luck in your crafting adventures!
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
Friday, February 21, 2014
High Heels
OK so no one knows this.... but I am a shoe addict. I LOVE me some good, cute shoes. Especially when they fit my giant feet lol. BUT am I the only one that is kind of upset about the new design? The 3 inch platform with the 6-7 inch heel... your foot is so flattened out in these shoes that your toes start going numb from the pressure on them? I want to be able to find some good made, comfy "original" sexy pumps. All I see when I look is is the "new" design. I appreciate the artistic value of these new designs don't get me wrong, but with my height and structure, they suck. I'm not fat, or skinny, but healthy. Like literally, my body mass index is where it's supposed to be according to my doctor. But that makes it difficult to wear these new designs for long periods of time with my massive feet. I say massive because my sisters and mother are all taller than I, and all wear 2-3-4 sizes smaller than me in shoes. I need a good round toe, 5 inch heel WITHOUT a platform and plenty of arch and heel support instead of the flat board in the new ones in that area. Anyone feel the same? Female problems lol. Oh and while I'm at it I would like to see the same designs in my size that they have in the smaller sizes, because that sucks when I go to big name stores and I'm like, "OMG I want those shoes!" And I look and look and look for my size, but the stores like, yeah... no... your size isn't popular enough for us to carry it those super cute and awesome designs. I wear a size 9-10 btw. I know not outlandish or anything and actually kind of popular, but the stores don't think so lol.
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Easter Dress
Ok so I was finally able to start making the toddler Easter dress one of my clients asked for and I have gotten pretty far on it. I am so excited about because other than 3 specifications (length, style and ruffles) I have full artistic control over it and that has been really fun. It is a tank-top bodice, with a kind of belled out skirt that is going to have a ton of pretty ruffles on the skirt. The bodice is light purple (I'm making it with baby size 3 yarn and bright purple isn't offered where I can find it in stores) and white. And it will have a little ballet sweater to go with it also purple. I am about halfway done with the dress itself, just working on the ruffles (thank god I bought two skeins of the white yarn lmao) and I can tell you right now this may just be my proudest achievement as a yarn artist! I couldn't find any patterns that I liked that were free, so I said, "Screw it, I have enough experience I can figure this out." and omg did I ever?! I would post pictures of it right now but I want it to be a pleasant surprise ^_^. So stay tuned!!
On a side note, on another order I have received, 2 pairs of knitted slippers, I can only do a few rows a day of. The reason being... I am using bulky weight or size 6 yarn and size 6 needles lol. They are perfect and awesome when they are done but a b***h to make haha. The result though is amazing, because with the combination of the thick yarn and the little needles they are so tight and thick that they keep my clients feet super duper warm, so their happiness makes it all worth it. I have figured out that if I do 12 rows each day (6 in the morning and 6 at night) that I can get both pairs done in about a week and a half or so. There are only 48 rows on each so.
And then all these orders are filled I will be able to continue to work on my sweater dress! ^_^ And also make some things I have gotten ideas for.
What are you working on right now?
On a side note, on another order I have received, 2 pairs of knitted slippers, I can only do a few rows a day of. The reason being... I am using bulky weight or size 6 yarn and size 6 needles lol. They are perfect and awesome when they are done but a b***h to make haha. The result though is amazing, because with the combination of the thick yarn and the little needles they are so tight and thick that they keep my clients feet super duper warm, so their happiness makes it all worth it. I have figured out that if I do 12 rows each day (6 in the morning and 6 at night) that I can get both pairs done in about a week and a half or so. There are only 48 rows on each so.
And then all these orders are filled I will be able to continue to work on my sweater dress! ^_^ And also make some things I have gotten ideas for.
What are you working on right now?
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
Well Hello There!
I have recently made a new friend. My neighbor that I've had for the last year and half (since we moved here) started come over the past couple of days and we sat and talked for hours at a time. She told me about her childhood in the Philippines and of her marriage. She said that her husband died 5 years ago next week, and she was explaining that her doctor told her she needs to move on because her continued grieving is killing her. She told me they were married for 33 years. How you just move on from the best part of your life? But at the same time, time does heal all wounds, and life must go on right? Saying that though, if my husband died I know I would be devastated. I know that I would hurt for a long time. I don't know, like her, if I would ever be able to "move on". Although my Grandmother never took another "male friend", she did grieve for a few years and lived with my Aunt to help her grieve. And now she lives in a senior apartment building (you know those 55+ neighborhoods, they live on their own and stuff). This is the happiest she has been since my Grandfather died, she is surrounded by peers of her own age, and she is working there as well so she has something to do daily. She is healthier than she has been in a long time too! I want to tell my neighbor about this but I'm not sure how she will feel about it and if she will be offended. But it couldn't hurt right? You know one of those instances where you feel compelled to help as much as possible? But now I have another reason to not want to move lol. Anyway, Have a wonderful day!
Friday, February 14, 2014
Valentines Day
I am working on two orders right now. One is two pairs of knitted slippers, and the other is an Easter dress. I am really excited about the Easter dress because I am making it completely from my imagination. The client gave me an idea of what they wanted, and because I couldn't find the right pattern I am doing it experimentally. I have only had to rip out the stitches once so far and my second try is just beautiful. I have a month to make it and about a week and half to finish the slippers, so when my hands hurt or I just get burnt out on the slippers, I'm going to switch to the dress for a bit. Also the left over bits from the slippers I'm going to make my self a pretty scarf with, no waste! :) I want to go pick out a entire cart full of yarn and start making my daughter stuffs, looking through pictures on Google I have a lot of ideas and I am excited.
Oh! By the way!! Happy Valentines Day!! :P excited to spend this weekend with my hubby baby, I missed him! What are your plans for today? Even if your single you can still do something to show your love and appreciation for yourself! Get yourself a present, go get pampered, do something that you love to do, or if you have single friends, go out on the town be each other's Valentines! Show your appreciation for your pet or child, or even Parent. As elementary school shows us, Valentine's day is not just about couples, it's about showing everyone that they are loved and cherished. <3 <3
Oh! By the way!! Happy Valentines Day!! :P excited to spend this weekend with my hubby baby, I missed him! What are your plans for today? Even if your single you can still do something to show your love and appreciation for yourself! Get yourself a present, go get pampered, do something that you love to do, or if you have single friends, go out on the town be each other's Valentines! Show your appreciation for your pet or child, or even Parent. As elementary school shows us, Valentine's day is not just about couples, it's about showing everyone that they are loved and cherished. <3 <3
Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Moving :(
So it's not the process of moving, the finding of the new house, or getting used to new surroundings that make me have an anxiety attack... It's the not being around family like we have for every house we lived in since moving out of our nests. My hubby and I both still lived with our moms when we both got our own first house, and experience we had each other for. And in each of the 3 houses we have lived in since saying good bye to our mommies, we lived next door (literally) to family. But this move, that has to happen no matter what because this house and property are a VERY bad match for my family even if we move down the street, I don't think we will be able to move next door, down the street or even in the same town as family. In combination with our individual needs in a home and our budget for said future home, this is quickly becoming a nightmare.
I found homes that the inside is PERFECT!!! but the outside (I.E. yard) is not kid friendly. Or houses and property that are perfect but WAY too expensive, OR don't allow us to bring our 2 kitties and 1 pom-chi. And there have even been a couple that were perfect but too far away from a reasonable distance to my hubby's work. I don't want to settle again. Not for the 4th time in a row. I know that may sound bad, though I don't mean it to. We did thoroughly enjoy being next to family, but the properties/managers were horrible. I'm tired of living in unfinished houses, and /or not having the time/resources to finish them myself. I'm tired of not being able to allow my kids outside, losing hundreds of dollars because I have no where to store anything (just like Christmas stuff and whatnot), and this is going to sound weird but I tired of the stupid annoying ass stray cats!! I know that sounds bad, trust me... but the last 2 houses I've lived in the one lady next door had over 60 feral cats living on her property that she was supposed to be a sanctuary for and fix them and find them homes and stuff, but they just bred and bred until they died, and would beat up my animals. And this house... She's really sweet, but this cat that showed up out of nowhere sits there and will not leave you alone AT ALL while your outside. Like "massages" you know? But it's not really massaging, it's just like clawing and I have scratches all over my hands, arms, and legs because I can't get her to understand I don't want to pet her!!
Wow... This turned into a rant.. my bad...
ANYWAY, I actually started to cry this morning because the thought of moving away from the family we live next door to right now. It's depressing and I am going to miss them sooo much!! But it's time to take a deep breath, Pray for the future, and Hope everything turns around for the better. Wish us luck!
I found homes that the inside is PERFECT!!! but the outside (I.E. yard) is not kid friendly. Or houses and property that are perfect but WAY too expensive, OR don't allow us to bring our 2 kitties and 1 pom-chi. And there have even been a couple that were perfect but too far away from a reasonable distance to my hubby's work. I don't want to settle again. Not for the 4th time in a row. I know that may sound bad, though I don't mean it to. We did thoroughly enjoy being next to family, but the properties/managers were horrible. I'm tired of living in unfinished houses, and /or not having the time/resources to finish them myself. I'm tired of not being able to allow my kids outside, losing hundreds of dollars because I have no where to store anything (just like Christmas stuff and whatnot), and this is going to sound weird but I tired of the stupid annoying ass stray cats!! I know that sounds bad, trust me... but the last 2 houses I've lived in the one lady next door had over 60 feral cats living on her property that she was supposed to be a sanctuary for and fix them and find them homes and stuff, but they just bred and bred until they died, and would beat up my animals. And this house... She's really sweet, but this cat that showed up out of nowhere sits there and will not leave you alone AT ALL while your outside. Like "massages" you know? But it's not really massaging, it's just like clawing and I have scratches all over my hands, arms, and legs because I can't get her to understand I don't want to pet her!!
Wow... This turned into a rant.. my bad...
ANYWAY, I actually started to cry this morning because the thought of moving away from the family we live next door to right now. It's depressing and I am going to miss them sooo much!! But it's time to take a deep breath, Pray for the future, and Hope everything turns around for the better. Wish us luck!
Monday, February 10, 2014
Internet Safety, Please Read
So your sitting there on FaceBook and you see a video that catches your eye. You think, "Wow! I really want to watch that it looks interesting!" You click play on the video but it takes you to another website that tells you, you need to share it before you can watch it! RED FLAG! Don't do anything! Except click out of the window! Most videos in facebook will play automatically or after you click play and it will play right in the feed or open a "theatre" (the black pop out [not up]) to play it. This is on the computer and on smart phones.
Second, I like to "like" news channel pages on facebook. Reason is because a friend might "post" a link to a news story about a crazy ass thing that happened. Usually something that would make big news. BUT the news did not report about it! You click that link without checking the news channel posts and suddenly your account has been compromised and "your" spamming like crazy. "Posting" all kinds of stuff that you normally wouldn't. Long story short here, if it sounds too good to true, it's not true.
I have also seen numerous of my friends post about a job with all kinds of links and what was funny was that all my friends that posted about this "job" said the same thing when recommending it. That's odd? Basically it was another compromising technique that a hacker used to spam with others accounts.
Keep your eyes open and pay attention. I basically realized that any links that don't look like normal links (example http://www.blahblahblah.com) is bull. EXCEPT when a news channel posts a link to read their story on their site.
Anything else I come across I will put on this post. via **edit** Stay Safe!!
Second, I like to "like" news channel pages on facebook. Reason is because a friend might "post" a link to a news story about a crazy ass thing that happened. Usually something that would make big news. BUT the news did not report about it! You click that link without checking the news channel posts and suddenly your account has been compromised and "your" spamming like crazy. "Posting" all kinds of stuff that you normally wouldn't. Long story short here, if it sounds too good to true, it's not true.
I have also seen numerous of my friends post about a job with all kinds of links and what was funny was that all my friends that posted about this "job" said the same thing when recommending it. That's odd? Basically it was another compromising technique that a hacker used to spam with others accounts.
Keep your eyes open and pay attention. I basically realized that any links that don't look like normal links (example http://www.blahblahblah.com) is bull. EXCEPT when a news channel posts a link to read their story on their site.
Anything else I come across I will put on this post. via **edit** Stay Safe!!
Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Beating a Dead Horse..Maybe... (explicit... Kinda)
So I saw this video and I could not help but laugh:
It's SOOOO TRUE!! lmao Yeah I'm sorry but I don't GAF who you are, my child's needs over come your squeamishness, because let's be honest... would you rather hear my baby screaming, or see my boob for a split second? I know the whole, "Put a blanket over you, or a nursing bib, udder cover." Blah Blah Blah. But you know what? Even with a sheet, my babies would sweat like crazy because we live where it's 120 in the summer, and 70+ in the winter plus after a certain age they don't like the thing on them anyway and pull it off which causes me stress trying to keep YOU from freaking out and my ducts tense up and no milk comes out and my baby can't eat anyway... so thanks. And I'm sorry but again my baby's needs trumps your squeamishness and I WILL NOT take my baby into the bathroom to feed him/her. #1 It's disgusting and filled with germs, #2 I'm not getting my baby sick so you don't see my boob for a SPLIT SECOND while they latch on or off. What the heck do you think the darn things are for anyway?? I mean honestly!! Yes they are fun to play with, but you know why you are attracted to them? For their purpose, because instinctively you think they will feed your children well... yeah try to argue that... why else would they be so sexy? Seriously.. think that over, I'll wait...
Get over yourselves...
Get over yourselves...
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Sweater Dress Follow-up #2
So my neck has been a lot better as of the past few days. I didn't take any Tylenol yesterday, and I realized the more I do during the day the more the pain goes away. So since I am more up to working on my sweater dress I had a thought while wearing my Hubby's old sweatshirt. It had a hole in the sleeve right next to the cuff that fit my thumb through perfectly. So I was thinking that ever since I saw my ex boyfriend from middle school wear a shirt with the holes in the sleeves purposely for his thumbs to make finger-less glove sleeves, I had always wanted one like that. The closest I ever got was the above the elbow gloves that , that (again) mysteriously disappeared when I was 19. So I was thinking that maybe this dress might look cute with sleeves like this. Add a couple more inches onto the beginning ribbing of the sleeves, bind off so many stitches, then add the stitches back on the next row and viola! Thumb hole sleeves (I think that is what it's called)! And when I don't want the sleeves over my hands, I can just fold the sleeve or push it up. What do you guys think?
Also I was thinking that since it's an off the shoulder sweater pattern we are using to use maybe a different color to add on faux tank top straps, because I dunno about you, but I am uncomfy without a bra on, and I don't own many strapless ones. Oh just a note, unless you are really comfortable with your body and/or depending on where you plan to wear this, may I suggest a slip? My Hubby pointed out when I was holding it up, to make sure it was the right dimensions, that it was a bit see through. It could just be the color I'm working it in though. Caron Simply Soft in Grey Heather. But yeah, a slip might be a smart move with this one ;)
Anyway, how is everyone doing in Blogger land? Has anyone been able to stick to their resolutions if any were made? I'm still having difficulty myself, but I am trying and that's what counts right? Right?? Oh but as part of my resolutions, is it weird that when we get our tax return that I am most excited about getting stuff to organize with? Making life easier on my family. ^_^ Anyway,
Good luck in your Adventures in Crafting!
Also I was thinking that since it's an off the shoulder sweater pattern we are using to use maybe a different color to add on faux tank top straps, because I dunno about you, but I am uncomfy without a bra on, and I don't own many strapless ones. Oh just a note, unless you are really comfortable with your body and/or depending on where you plan to wear this, may I suggest a slip? My Hubby pointed out when I was holding it up, to make sure it was the right dimensions, that it was a bit see through. It could just be the color I'm working it in though. Caron Simply Soft in Grey Heather. But yeah, a slip might be a smart move with this one ;)
Anyway, how is everyone doing in Blogger land? Has anyone been able to stick to their resolutions if any were made? I'm still having difficulty myself, but I am trying and that's what counts right? Right?? Oh but as part of my resolutions, is it weird that when we get our tax return that I am most excited about getting stuff to organize with? Making life easier on my family. ^_^ Anyway,
Good luck in your Adventures in Crafting!
Monday, February 3, 2014
How to Knit
Ok, first off I would like to say I’m sorry this is a tad
late, I’ve had a few technical difficulties in getting this done, but here you
go finally ^_^
To some, knitting seems intimidating and confusing, but when
teaching children, I learned that knitting is easier than crocheting when you
don’t know either. Though in teaching my
7 year old son and 10 year old niece, my son was determined to be like mommy,
and he’s gotten very good at his chains (we haven’t gotten a moment to go
further yet, hoping on his next school break to teach him single crochet), but
my niece found it very difficult and while watching me make my duster she got
excited about it and I decided for her to learn to knit. She still has a little trouble with it, but
she is doing better than with the crocheting, and picked up the knitting faster
too. But to each his own.
Now for any knit project, these are the tools you will
need. Two knitting needles, or 2 pens,
or 2 sharpened pencils, 2 chopsticks, 2 sharpened and sanded down sticks… you
get the picture XD. I once made a dress
up scarf for my niece out of 2 Bic pens.
A ball or skein of yarn ( I suggest red heart to learn with). Something to cut with, they have sewing kits
with little scissors, or big scissors, nail clippers, a hunting knife… again
you get the picture lol. Something to
measure with, a ruler, a dress makers measuring tape, a carpenters measuring
tape, anything that gives you exact measurements of millimeters (for your
needle size) and centimeters and inches (for the fabric). Some patterns only have one or the other,
but some have both for those on both sides of “the pond”.
So first, you need to know how to slip knot (the foundation
for both crafts). And then how to cast
on, there are different ways to do this, but I’m going to show you the most
fundamental way to do so. Along with the
knit stitch, which you honestly now know by doing your cast on.
Now you know the first two most important things about
knitting, casting on and the knit stitch, here is the third, purling:
Now here is a neat way to add texture to your piece, the
cable. Again like the cast on, there are
numerous ways to do this for different effects, but here is the basic idea:
And now the last, most important thing about knitting,
casting off, finishing off, or binding off.
I hope you had as much learning as I did teaching ^_^ Again if you have any questions, leave a
comment or shoot me an email at babystewart88@gmail.com
and I will be more than happy to help out.
Good luck in your Adventures in Crafting!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)